21st ECCMID / 27th ICC: Milan, Italy · 7 – 10 May 2011

ISC Hamao Umezawa Memorial Award

This is the highest award given by the ISC for outstanding contributions in the field of chemotherapy.

Professor Stuart B. Levy

The 2011 awardee is Professor Stuart B. Levy who is Professor of Molecular Biology and Microbiology and of Medicine and Director of the Centre for Adaptation Genetics and Drug Resistance at Tufts University School of Medicine.

For about 40 years, Professor Levy has combined basic science research with public health initiatives and education aimed at understanding appropriate use of antibiotics and curbing antibiotic resistance.
A number of seminal findings include his discovery of active drug efflux as a mechanism for antibiotic ( tetracycline) resistance; the discovery of the chromosomal regulatory locus for multiple antibiotic resistance (mar locus) and virulence; the first demonstration of the transfer of resistance genes and resistant bacteria among animals and people; and discovery of the major target for triclosan (a commonlyused biocide). His studies have influenced efforts in infectious disease research and public health policy worldwide to increase public and professional awareness of antibiotic resistance and of the proper use of antibiotics.

His widely-cites 1992/2002 book The Antibiotic Paradox: How Miracle Drugs are Destroying the Miracle has bees translated into many languages.

In 1981, Professor Levy co-founded the Alliance for Prudent Use of Antibiotics (APUA) using networks, country-wide chapters (currently 65), an individuals to foster prudent antibiotic use and strategies to curtail antibiotic resistance.

The Award is provided by the Microbial Chemistry Research Foundation of Japan in honour of the late Professor Umezawa.

The ISC Hamao Umezawa Memorial Award Lecture will be presented on Sunday, 8 May 2011 at 14.30 in Lecture Hall White 3 and is titled: Antibiotic resistance: back to the bigger circle